Feb 28, 2014

Cabinet approves President's Rule in Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh, which is being split to create Telangana, will be put under  President's Rule and the Assembly placed under suspended animation.
 The Union Cabinet in its last meeting before the Lok Sabha elections on Friday decided to impose President's Rule in the state.  The state has been without a chief minister after Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned from the post and Congress party to protest against the passage of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill, 2013 which paved the way for Telangana's creation.  The Bill is awaiting President Pranab Mukherjee's consent after which India will have 29 states. While Telangana erupted with joy after the Bill's passage, Seemandhra saw massive protests against the decision.
President's Rule refers to Article 356 of the Constitution of India deals with the failure of the Constitutional machinery of an Indian state. In the event that government in a state is not able to function as per the Constitution, the state comes under the direct control of the central government, with executive authority exercised through the Governor instead of a Council of Ministers headed by an elected Chief Minister accountable to the state legislature.

No comments: